LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

14 SEPTEMBER 2016

Present: County Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

County Councillors Bowden, Chaundy, Hinchey, Hunt and

Phillips

38 : APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Dianne Rees.

39 : DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS

Councillors Bowden, Hunt and Merry declared a prejudicial interest in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct and the Local Government Act 1972 in Item 6 on the agenda, the Re-appointment to Future Local Authority Governor Vacancies and appointment to vacancies requiring further consideration. Councillor Bowden interest was as Chair of Governors at Birchgrove Primary School; Councillor Hunt was seeking nomination to the Governing Body of Coed Glas Primary School; and Councillor Merry as a Cabinet Member and colleague of Councillor seeking reappointment. The Councillors all left the meeting during consideration of these items.

40 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting 19 May 2016 were approved and signed as a correct record.

41 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES LIST

Members received a list of existing and future vacancies up to 31 January 2017.

42 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That the public be excluded from the meeting by virtue of paragraph(s)

12 of Part(s) 4 and 5 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972: (12) Information relating to a particular individual.

43 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

(Councillors Bowden, Hunt and Merry reaffirmed their declaration of interests made earlier under the Member Code of Conduct and left the meeting during consideration of the applications for schools that they had a prejudicial interest in)

The Committee considered applications received to existing and future Local Authority Governor vacancies from 22 July 2016 to 31 January 2017 and assessed each application against the adopted selection criteria for the appointment and conduct and relevant information received from the Director of Education; Chair of Governors and Head teacher in relation to attendance. The Panel was pleased to be considering such a wide range of candidates with a range of skills that can be matched to support governing bodies.

The Panel wished to stress to all Members the importance of fully completing nomination forms and including all the relevant information.

The Panel was advised in response to a question that the number of vacancies has reduced but their remained approximately 32 vacancies some of which are longstanding.

RESOLVED – That the Council is recommended to approve the following appointments to Local Authority School Governing Bodies:

Current Vacancies

School	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Appointment	
Bryn Hafod Primary School	Llanrumney	19/05/2016	Tony Powell	
Cardiff High School	Cyncoed	19/07/2016 20/07/2016	Cllr Margaret Jones Liane Wigley	
Ely and Caerau Children's Centre	Ely	23/06/2015	Denise Kelland	
Gabalfa Primary School	Llandaff North	22/04/2016	Hannah Buckingham	
Glyncoed Primary School	Pentwyn	24/09/2015	David Hughes	
Grangetown Primary School	Grangetown	22/06/2016	Miguela Gonzalez	
Gwaelod Y Garth Primary School	Pentyrch	14/03/2016	Lauren Stork	
Howardian Primary School	Penylan	13/01/2016	Louise Gardner	
Kitchener Primary School	Riverside	02/07/2016	Cllr Caro Wild	
Llanedeyrn Primary School	Pentwyn	02/07/2016	Alex Ingram	
Meadowbank Special School	Llandaff North	28/01/2006	Mike Borley	
Meadowlane Primary School	Trowbridge	07/06/2016	Katherine Whittington	
Millbank Primary School	Caerau	20/07/2016	Cllr Peter Bradbury	
St Teilo's CIW Primary School	Pentwyn	10/05/2016	Jenny Rathbone	
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch	17/07/2015	Christian Webb	
Ysgol Pencae	Llandaff	21/10/2015	Eryl Siriol Burford	
Ysgol Pwll Coch	Canton	27/01/2016	Rebecca Avci	

Future Governor Vacancies

School	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Nomination
Birchgrove Primary School	Heath	01/02/17	Dan Walsh

School	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Nomination	
Bryn Celyn Primary School	Pentwyn	13/12/16	Mark Perrins	
Cathays High School	Gabalfa	25/09/16	Cllr Elizabeth Clark	
Coed Glas Primary School	Llanishen	19/10/16 9/10/16 26/10/16	Michael Bryan Charles Taylor Cllr Garry Hunt	
Coryton Primary School	Whitchurch	01/02/17	Cllr David Groves	
Greenhill School	Rhiwbina	28/09/16 28/09/16	Anne Ambler Stephen Durrani	
Hawthorn Primary School	Llandaff North	28/09/16	Cllr Dilwar Ali	
Llanishen Fach Primary School	Rhiwbina	14/12/16	Paul Jeffries	
Mary Immaculate Catholic High School	Caerau	14/12/16	John Union	
Ninian Park Primary School	Grangetown	14/12/16	Cllr Lynda Thorne	
Oakfield Primary School	Trowbridge	13/12/16	Sian Burgess-Hunt	
St Fagan's Church in Wales Primary School	Ely	21/11/16	Julie Thomas	
Ton Yr Ywen Primary School	Heath	19/12/16	Cllr Lyn Hudson	
Ysgol Gynradd Gymraeg Hamadryad	Butetown	1/10/16 1/10/16	Cllr Ali Ahmed Dafydd Trystan Davies	
		1/10/16	Mair Parry Jones	

44 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING - 17 January 2017 at 5.00pm.

Chair:			
	Date:		

